5 cool new stamps that celebrate our fave Aussie children’s book authors

Kinderling News & Features

Sending someone a letter via snail mail just got more fun.

How, we hear you ask? 

Well, Australia Post have just announced the winners of their Australia Post 2019 Legend Awards – a brilliant iniative to honour the most celebrated Aussie children’s book writers.

The five winners of this year’s awards  will all be pleasingly recognisable to lovers of children’s books.

Ahem. Drumroll please …  Mem Fox AM, Morris Gleitzman, Leigh Hobbs, Alison Lester and Shaun Tan!

All five authors will have their portrait featured on a new postage stamp that will be sold at your local Australia Post office.


What a cool idea!

“These authors hold a very special place in the bookshelves of many Australian families, and we’re excited to celebrate their achievements with this new stamp release,” said Australia Post Executive General Manager Community & Consumer, Nicole Sheffield.

In case you didn’t know, the Australia Post Legends Awards have been going for about 23 years but they haven’t always focussed on literature.

The sole aim of the inative is to “celebrate living Australians who’ve made a significant contribution through their field of endeavour, inspiring the community and influencing the way Australians think about themselves and the community.

How do I get one?

Get down to your local post office and ask for the 2019 Australian Legends of Children’s Literature stamp issue. You’ll get five $1 stamps, a first day cover, stamp pack, maxicard set, five booklets of ten $1 stamps, and a booklet collection pack.

You can also order by phone 1800 331 794 or online at auspost.com.au/stamps.

With this pack in your hot little hands, the only real problem you'll have is deciding who to write a letter and send it to!